Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

There are 7 areas of learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and these are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and emotional development

These prime areas are the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive arts and design

The Characteristics of Effective Learning (COEL) are a key element in the EYFS. They detail the ways in which children should be learning from their environment, experiences and activities. The Characteristics of Effective Learning are:

Playing and Exploring

  • Finding out and exploring

  • Playing with what they know

  • Being willing to ‘have a go’

Active Learning

  • Being involved and concentrating

  • Keeping trying

  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically

  • Having their own ideas

  • Making links

  • Choosing ways to do thing

Each child is unique and reaches out to relate to people and things through the Characteristics of Effective Learning which move through all areas of learning.

Download the parent’s guide to the EYFS.