Early Years Foundation Stage

Every child is unique, and at Kids Start we aim to encourage and guide each individual to learn and grow in a way that is suited to them.


We want all our children to feel happy, secure, included and cared for. 

We provide an environment which gives children the ability to learn, through well planned, purposeful activities around their interests. We also have nursery classes to help your child to get ready for school.

Our highly skilled staff are trained to use the Webster-Stratton positive strategies to manage and support children’s behaviour.

The Plan

There are 7 areas of learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and these are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The Characteristics of Effective Learning (COEL) are a key element in the EYFS. They detail the ways in which children should be learning from their environment, experiences and activities.

The Characteristics of Effective Learning are:

Playing and Exploring

  • finding out and exploring
  • playing with what they know
  • being willing to ‘have a go’

Active Learning

  • being involved and concentrating
  • keep trying
  • enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically

  • having their own ideas
  • making links
  • choosing ways to do things


Kids Start Northenden opened in 2014.


We love to nurture successful relationships with all our families. This helps establish sound working partnerships and provide care and education to the highest quality.